I've Got Writes!

Teacher, Writer, Proofreader

How I’m Learning to Blog

This summer, I have been studying up on how to create and manage a successful blog. I’m working slowly, but diligently to implement what I’ve learned.

Three books have been vitally helpful to me. The first one I read is Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro (2nd edition) by Tris Hussey.  It’s a down-to-earth, easy read. (Although, some of the more techie talk is above my head right now, but hopefully, not forever). Trussey uses humor and explains his preferences and why he has those preferences. My general take away from this book so far is listed below:

  • Trussey’s preferred blogging platform is WordPress, though he did discuss the strong points of blogger and Tumblr.
  • WordPress offers a free blogging platform, with options to upgrade for a fee.
  • WordPress.com and WordPress.org are different, in that WordPress. org allows the more tech savvy users to have more ownership by self-hosting their sites.
  • For more professional use, purchasing a domain name is encouraged as soon as you know you’ll stick with it–like consistent posts for three or four months.
  • Visit other blogs in your niche and comment generously and sincerely. This helps build your blogging community and traffic to your blog.
  • Compelling content is key! (I’m very aware that I need work on this).

More information scratched in my notes will eventually be applied. For now, I need to keep writing and reading. I’ll address other parts of the book as I expand my techie skills!

For future reference, the other blogging books I’m reading are WordPress for Dummies and ProBlogger: Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income by Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

