I've Got Writes!

Teacher, Writer, Proofreader

Entitlement of Sixth Graders

Warning: This is a venting rant full of sarcasm that all frustrated teachers of middle school aliens will completely understand. Tread carefully if you seek to judge or are easily offended.

Disclaimer: I’m aware that not all students can or should be lumped into the following generalization. I’m not an idiot.

 

What the frack?! Why the hell is this generation so freakin’ ENTITLED?? Good grief! A frightening number of parental units are raising a bunch of whiney-assed, wussy kids who have no gratitude, and no clue what exerting effort entails. It’s like Garfield multiplied to the Nth degree. Self-centered, lazy sloths. (No disrespect to actual sloths intended).

Their motto:

The world revolves around me and should cater to my snarky, rude, disrespectful whims. Everyone, especially my teachers, should entertain me 24/7.

I get the fact that self-centeredness is a natural quality displayed in most adolescents, but at what point does it stop? I don’t see much evidence of the entitlement lessening as teens approach adulthood.

Who or what is enabling all this entitlement?

Thoughts?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

